Home » Uncategorized » Kelly Greene, Iesha Liberato, Christina Little

Kelly Greene, Iesha Liberato, Christina Little

Graduating Students Art Exhibit

Exhibit: 4/24-8/1/17

Reception and Artists Gallery Talk: Tuesday 4/25/17  6-8pm

ARTIST STATEMENTS

Kelly Greene

I have always been drawn to both trees and human faces. I love finding that both in trees and in faces you will never find two that are exactly alike. It is the diversity of them that I love, and the never ending possibilities that I can create.

Another reason I focus on trees is because of age: they live so long. If they could tell stories I always wonder what they would say. For every tree I create I have a story that goes along with it. I create the events that occur around them.

The heads I have made also have their own stories. I have always wanted to write a book and these faces are the characters I have envisioned and created to go into my story. They all have their own personality to me. Another reason I have created the heads is because I find mystery surrounds the elderly. I want to know what they have experienced and who they were in the past before I have come to know them. The same goes for the young, but instead of their past I wonder about the events that have not passed yet in their life and who they will become. Every line in a face and every sparkle in an eye have a story behind them that makes the person who one is and it makes me wonder about everyone I meet. Time and age fascinate me and that is why I have focused on both trees and faces.

From The Gallery:

greene

DSCN6725.jpg

Iesha Liberato

Philippians 4:6-7

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

From the Gallery:

1_Liberato_PrayerOfPeace

DSCN6726.jpg

Christina Little

Art is a way to express yourself, and bring out the beauty that we fail to see in our everyday lives. In my paintings I displayed the beauty in nature and the human figure to show how they relate to one another and how we fail to see how much they co-exist. Our body is our canvas and each part of it is beautiful in its unique way. Displaying how our body relates to nature shows that we are one with nature. Each of these pieces is the reflection of the self and how you are able to find your own inner piece. My sculptors bring both the pain and also the joy to the eyes of the viewers in Togetherness, and Fetal Position. It is difficult for individuals to talk about their past life, so they personally have to find their inner strength to overpower their struggles. This is why some of the work displays happy content to show that we can find inner peace and, in essence, find our inner self and positivity in our lives.

From the Gallery:

6_Little_Blossom

DSCN6724.jpg

Leave a Reply

